

Democracy in Action: Board Elections

Hanscom FCU is a financial cooperative with a volunteer board of directors. As a member, you can participate in the nomination of directors for open board positions and vote for members of the board. There are two ways for members to qualify as candidates.

Nomination

Each year a committee is appointed to nominate at least one candidate for each open board position. The committee met on November 14, 2024 and nominated Todd S. Meyers, Matt L. Mleziva and David P. Sprague.

Petition

Other eligible members interested in candidacy can qualify by petition. To do so, complete an official nomination by petition application form and a nomination by petition signature form. These forms are available at any branch beginning January 2, 2025 or by request at 800-656-4328. Completed forms must be received or postmarked by 11:59 PM on April 19, 2025. Applications and signature forms will not be accepted for consideration after that date. Nominations are not accepted from the floor at the annual meeting.

Voting Process

If there are more nominations than positions to be filled, all eligible voters will be notified in writing that balloting will be conducted by an independent agency. Results will be announced at the annual meeting, to be held May 29, 2025 at the Hanscom Federal Credit Union Operations Center, Littleton, MA. The election will not be conducted by ballot when there is only one nominee for each position to be filled.

Director Responsibilities

Candidates must be willing to serve as volunteers. Duties include attending meetings at the main office, serving on assigned committees, and participating in educational and planning sessions. A director volunteers an average of 10-15 hours each month.

Meet the Candidates

Todd S. Meyers

Currently an Associate Board of Director, Mr. Meyers has served since 2023. He's served on the Advisory Committee and Condon Scholarship Committee. Mr. Meyers is a dual-hatted federal employee with over 22 years of service in the United States Air Force. In his civilian capacity, Mr. Meyers is the Chief, Japan AWACS Branch, Intelligence, Surveillance, Reconnaissance and Special Operations Forces at Hanscom AFB, MA. In his military/reserve capacity, Mr. Meyers is the Individual Mobilization Augmentee to the 402 Electronic Maintenance Group Director, Warner Robins Air Logistics Complex, GA. He is a resident of Chelmsford, MA.

Matt L. Mleziva

Board Member since 2022, currently serves on the Governance Committee, the Mergers & Acquisition Committee and the CEO Committee. He has previously served on the Supervisory Committee, including as its Chair, and has served on the Nominating Committee. He is a retired federal employee with over 30 years of service and a veteran of the United States Air Force. He is a resident of Westford, MA.

David P. Sprague

Mr. Sprague served as President/CEO of Hanscom Federal Credit Union for 25 years before his retirement in December 2021. During his tenure at Hanscom Federal Credit Union Mr. Sprague also served as a director and chairman of Eastern Corporate Federal Credit Union (EasCorp). He is a resident of Wellfleet, MA.